Tumblr vs. Posterous: A Brief Comparison

Notice a theme here? Yet another in my series of brief insights into popular social media services. Today I’ll be discussing Tumblr and Posterous, two microblogging sites that have drawn quite a bit of attention. The two services have quite a bit in common, and I found myself ultimately basing my deliberation on smaller features and the “feel” of the website.

Tumblr

Image

Right off the bat, I was impressed with Tumblr’s clean, sexy layout. Using Tumblr is fun because it looks so damn good. Perusing some of the popular blogs, it’s clear that people are able to inject a tremendous amount of individuality into their blogs.Tumblr also lets its users publish content to their page using a wide variety of different tools (email, cell, etc).

Posterous

Image

Posterous offers a lot of the same functionality as Tumblr, although with a slightly different flavor. It is simple to start an account with Posterous, and a user can almost immediately hop on and start interacting with the community. The post function, although a little basic-looking, works well and offers essentially the same opportunities.

Okay, so which did I prefer? This is a really tricky comparison. Although it’s hard to put the distinction into words, I found that Tumblr has a certain flair that ultimately won me over from Posterous. The sheer variety in themes, the attractive visuals, and what was apparently a more active community, were all positive aspects that attracted me to Tumblr. Although I would be hard pressed to explain how one differs substantially from the other, I will say that Tumblr looks and “feels” a lot more usable, and Posterous strikes me as a nitty-gritty, crude yet functional product.

Leave a Reply

